Isles of Scilly

A group of more than 100 islands off the tip of Cornwall. These may have formed part of the legendary land of Lyonesse. Three of the islands are today called Great Arthur, Middle Arthur and Little Arthur. These three once formed a single island and there may have been a tradition that Arthur was buried there.

Lyonesse, the land of Tristan, was said to have spanned the distance between Cornwall and the Isles of Scilly, but it sank into the sea.